Indigo Shibori

IMG_2508

IMG_2509

IMG_2512

IMG_2520

IMG_2524

IMG_2531

IMG_2560

IMG_2581

What a treat it was to play with some indigo dyes and kashmir rayon textiles again! I had 15 yards left of the most gorgeous soft kashmir rayon fabric I bought in Bali last year and I have been obsessed with indigo blues lately; so I thought it was the perfect opportunity to test out the ancient Japanese dye technique called Shibori. Dating back to the 8th century, Shibori is a technique where the cloth gets tied, blocked, bound, stitched or compressed ignored to create intricate patterns. I decided to just go for it and try as many different ways to block the dye from the fabric. I used tubes, wooden blocks, tons of elastics and some stitching to create some beautiful designs.I then found a very talented woman from the Congo by the name of Angel who carefully hand-stitched the edges of the gigantic soft kashmir scarves.

Here are a few images of my process. Contact me over email if you want one of the few scarves that are still left. saskia@saskiakoerner.com

One thought on “Indigo Shibori

Leave a comment

wildatheartweddings

Capturing you magical day

iamyoga360

Wholistic Wellness Management

The Beat of my Art

A creative blog by Lexus Gallegos

INSTITUTE MAGAZINE

Luxury Redefined

Sea Kin

Ocean Community. Ecology. Activism. Equality.